The World Cities Summit Young Leaders (WCS YL) is an initiative by the World Cities Summit (WCS). It aims to bring together young leaders from diverse urban sectors who are committed to actively catalyse change in cities and help shape urban development agendas.

Urbanization is reshaping our planet and radically transforming economies and societies. By 2060, 60% of the world’s population will live in cities. For city leaders, urbanization is an opportunity to create liveable, competitive and sustainable environments, to avoid social unrest, environmental deterioration and economic stagnation. Decisions that leaders make today will determine the wellbeing of more than half of the world’s population. The WCS Young Leaders initiative provides a platform to carry out intellectual discourse on urban issues and launch initiatives to tackle the challenges of tomorrow.

Applicants were reviewed by a distinguished multi-disciplinary and international Selection Committee comprising:

  • Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Senior Minister of State of the Ministry of National Development Singapore (Chair)
  • Ms Christiana Figueres, Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
  • Ambassador BurhanGafoor, Chief Negotiator for Climate Change, Singapore
  • Her Excellency MsFumiko Hayashi, Mayor of Yokohama and former President of CityNet
  • Dr Aisa Kirabo Kacyira, Deputy-Executive Director, UN-Habitat
  • Mr Peter Lacy, Managing Director Asia-Pacific Sustainability Services,  Accenture
  • Mr Andrei Sharonov, Dean of Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO
  • Dr Shi Nan ,Vice President and Secretary-General of the Urban Planning Society of China
  • Mr Andrew Tan, CE of Maritime Port Authority Singapore